Atomic Christmas Cake

cooling-reds

My daughter is really into Red Velvet Cake, so this year I decided to make one for our Christmas  dessert. I used Paula Deen’s Grandmother Paul’s recipe, which called for 2 bottles of red food coloring, making “red” the operative word in this dessert. I made a cream cheese frosting and did a Blitzkrieg piping job. It was not my best work, but it was acceptable.

plain-iced-red

Everything was going just fine until I decided to try something I saw on YouTube…

red-velvet-crumbs

Aahh! Little red aliens have landed on my cake! On the Internet, I saw a demo of crumbling your cake scraps and putting them on the outside of the cake. My family said they liked the way it looked, but I think it was better plain.

It didn’t stop anyone from eating it, so I guess overall it was a success.

inside-red-velvet

Leave a Reply

